أفضل 10 أدوات لاختبار الاختراق

10 أدوات اختبار القلم 2022

1. كالي لينكس

كالي ليست أداة في حد ذاتها. إنها توزيعة مفتوحة المصدر لنظام التشغيل Linux المصمم خصيصًا معلومات المهام الأمنية مثل الأبحاث الأمنية، والهندسة العكسية، والطب الشرعي للكمبيوتر، واختبار الاختراق.

يحتوي Kali على العديد من أدوات اختبار الاختراق ، والتي سترى بعضها في هذه القائمة أثناء القراءة. يمكن لهذه الأدوات أن تفعل كل ما تريده تقريبًا عندما يتعلق الأمر باختبار القلم. هل تريد تنفيذ هجوم حقن SQL أو نشر حمولة أو كسر كلمة مرور؟ هناك أدوات لذلك.

كانت تُعرف باسم Backtrack قبل اسمها الحالي ، Kali. يتم صيانته حاليًا بواسطة Offensive Security الذي يقوم بإصدار تحديثات لنظام التشغيل من حين لآخر لإضافة أدوات جديدة وتحسين التوافق ودعم المزيد من الأجهزة.

أحد الأشياء المدهشة في Kali هو مجموعة wIde من المنصات التي تعمل عليها. يمكنك تشغيل Kali على الأجهزة المحمولة و Docker و ARM و Amazon Web Services و Windows Subsystem لـ Linux و Virtual Machine و bare metal. 

من الممارسات الشائعة في أجهزة اختبار القلم تحميل التوت مع Kali نظرًا لصغر حجمها. هذا يجعل من السهل توصيله بشبكة في الموقع الفعلي للهدف. ومع ذلك ، فإن معظم أجهزة اختبار القلم تستخدم Kali على جهاز افتراضي أو محرك أقراص إبهام قابل للتمهيد.

لاحظ أن أمان Kali الافتراضي ضعيف ، لذلك تحتاج إلى تعزيزه قبل القيام أو تخزين أي شيء سري عليه.

2. ميتاسبلويت

لا يعد تجاوز أمان النظام المستهدف أمرًا مفروغًا منه دائمًا. يعتمد مختبرو القلم على نقاط الضعف داخل النظام المستهدف لاستغلالها والوصول إليها أو التحكم فيها. كما يمكنك أن تتخيل ، تم اكتشاف الآلاف من نقاط الضعف على مجموعة واسعة من المنصات على مر السنين. من المستحيل معرفة كل هذه الثغرات الأمنية وبرمجيات إكسبلويت ، لأنها عديدة.

وهنا يأتي دور Metasploit. Metasploit هو إطار أمان مفتوح المصدر تم تطويره بواسطة Rapid 7. ويستخدم لفحص أنظمة الكمبيوتر والشبكات والخوادم بحثًا عن نقاط الضعف لاستغلالها أو توثيقها.

يحتوي Metasploit على أكثر من ألفي استغلال عبر مجموعة واسعة من الأنظمة الأساسية ، مثل Android و Cisco و Firefox و Java و JavaScript و Linux و NetWare و nodejs و macOS و PHP و Python و R و Ruby و Solaris و Unix وبالطبع ، شبابيك. 

إلى جانب البحث عن نقاط الضعف ، يستخدم pentesters أيضًا Metasploit لتطوير برمجيات إكسبلويت ، وتسليم الحمولة ، وجمع المعلومات ، والحفاظ على الوصول إلى نظام مخترق.

يدعم Metasploit بعض أنظمة Windows و Linux أنظمة التشغيل وهو أحد التطبيقات المثبتة مسبقًا على Kali.

3. إيثار ريال

قبل محاولة تجاوز أمان النظام ، يحاول المخترقون جمع أكبر قدر ممكن من المعلومات حول هدفهم. القيام بذلك يسمح لهم باتخاذ قرار بشأن النهج الأمثل لاختبار النظام. إحدى الأدوات التي يستخدمها pentesters خلال هذه العملية هي Wireshark.

Wireshark هو محلل بروتوكول شبكة يستخدم لفهم حركة المرور عبر الشبكة. عادةً ما يستخدمه محترفو الشبكات لاستكشاف مشكلات اتصال TCP / IP وإصلاحها مثل مشكلات زمن الوصول والحزم المسقطة والنشاط الضار.

ومع ذلك ، يستخدمه pentesters لتقييم الشبكات لنقاط الضعف. إلى جانب تعلم كيفية استخدام الأداة نفسها ، تحتاج أيضًا إلى أن تكون على دراية ببعض مفاهيم الشبكات مثل مكدس TCP / IP ، وقراءة وتفسير رؤوس الحزم ، وفهم التوجيه ، وإعادة توجيه المنفذ ، وعمل DHCP لاستخدامها بكفاءة.

 

بعض ميزاته الرئيسية هي:

  • يمكن تحليل كميات كبيرة من البيانات.
  • دعم لتحليل وفك تشفير مئات البروتوكولات.
  • تحليل الشبكات في الوقت الفعلي وغير المتصل.
  • فلاتر التقاط وعرض قوية.

 

يتوفر Wireshark على أنظمة تشغيل Windows و macOS و Linux و Solaris و FreeBSD و NetBSD والعديد من الأنظمة الأساسية الأخرى. 

المحتوى المدعوم:

4. NMAP

يستخدم Pentesters Nmap لجمع المعلومات واكتشاف الثغرات الأمنية على الشبكة. Nmap ، اختصار لمخطط الشبكة ، هو ماسح ضوئي للمنافذ يستخدم لاكتشاف الشبكة. تم تصميم Nmap لمسح الشبكات الكبيرة التي تحتوي على مئات الآلاف من الأجهزة بسرعة. 

عادةً ما ينتج عن عمليات الفحص هذه معلومات مثل أنواع المضيفين على الشبكة ، والخدمات (اسم التطبيق والإصدار) التي يقدمونها ، واسم وإصدار نظام التشغيل الذي يعمل به المضيفون ، ومرشحات الحزمة وجدران الحماية المستخدمة ، والعديد من الخصائص الأخرى. 

من خلال عمليات المسح Nmap يكتشف pentesters مضيفين قابلين للاستغلال. يتيح لك Nmap أيضًا مراقبة وقت تشغيل المضيف والخدمة على الشبكة.

يعمل Nmap على أنظمة التشغيل الرئيسية مثل Linux و Microsoft Windows و Mac OS X و FreeBSD و OpenBSD و Solaris. يأتي أيضًا مثبتًا مسبقًا على Kali مثل أدوات اختبار الاختراق أعلاه.

5. ايركراك، نغ

ربما تكون شبكات WiFi واحدة من أولى الأنظمة التي كنت ترغب في اختراقها. بعد كل شيء ، من الذي لا يريد شبكة WiFi "مجانية"؟ بصفتك خبيرًا ، يجب أن يكون لديك أداة لاختبار أمان WiFi في مجموعة أدواتك. وما هي الأداة الأفضل لاستخدامها من Aircrack-ng؟

Aircrack-ng هي أداة مفتوحة المصدر يستخدمها pentesters للتعامل مع الشبكات اللاسلكية. يحتوي على مجموعة من الأدوات المستخدمة لتقييم نقاط الضعف في الشبكة اللاسلكية.

جميع أدوات Aircrack-ng هي أدوات سطر أوامر. هذا يجعل من السهل على pentesters إنشاء نصوص مخصصة للاستخدام المتقدم. بعض ميزاته الرئيسية هي:

  • مراقبة حزم الشبكة.
  • مهاجمة عن طريق حقن الحزمة.
  • اختبار قدرات WiFi والسائق.
  • اختراق شبكات WiFi باستخدام بروتوكولات التشفير WEP و WPA PSK (WPA 1 و 2).
  • يمكن التقاط حزم البيانات وتصديرها لمزيد من التحليل بواسطة أدوات الطرف الثالث.

 

يعمل Aircrack-ng بشكل أساسي على Linux (يأتي مع Kali) ولكنه متاح أيضًا على Windows و macOS و FreeBSD و OpenBSD و NetBSD و Solaris و eComStation 2.

6. سقلماب

نظام إدارة قاعدة البيانات غير الآمن هو ناقل هجوم يستخدمه pentesters غالبًا للوصول إلى النظام. تعد قواعد البيانات جزءًا لا يتجزأ من التطبيقات الحديثة ، مما يعني أنها موجودة في كل مكان. وهذا يعني أيضًا أنه يمكن للمخترعين الدخول في الكثير من الأنظمة من خلال أنظمة إدارة قواعد البيانات (DBMS) غير الآمنة. 

Sqlmap هي أداة حقن SQL تقوم بأتمتة الكشف عن عيوب حقن SQL واستغلالها من أجل الاستيلاء على قاعدة بيانات. قبل Sqlmap ، قام pentesters بتشغيل هجمات حقن SQL يدويًا. هذا يعني أن تنفيذ التقنية يتطلب معرفة مسبقة.

الآن ، يمكن حتى للمبتدئين استخدام أي من تقنيات حقن SQL الستة التي يدعمها Sqlmap (الاستعلامات المنطقية العمياء ، والمعمى القائم على الوقت ، والقائمة على الأخطاء ، والاستعلامات المستندة إلى UNION ، والمكدسة ، والاستعلامات خارج النطاق) لمحاولة الدخول قاعدة البيانات. 

يمكن لـ Sqlmap تنفيذ هجمات على مجموعة واسعة من نظم إدارة قواعد البيانات مثل MySQL و Oracle و PostgreSQL و Microsoft SQL Server و Microsoft Access و IBM DB2 و SQLite. قم بزيارة الموقع للحصول على قائمة كاملة. 

 

تشمل بعض أهم ميزاته ما يلي:

  • تنفيذ الأوامر على نظام تشغيل الجهاز المستهدف ، عبر اتصالات خارج النطاق.
  • الوصول إلى نظام الملفات الأساسي للجهاز الهدف.
  • يمكنه التعرف تلقائيًا على تنسيقات تجزئة كلمات المرور ، وكسرها باستخدام هجوم القاموس. 
  • يمكن إنشاء اتصال بين جهاز المهاجم ونظام التشغيل الأساسي لخادم قاعدة البيانات ، مما يسمح له بتشغيل محطة طرفية أو جلسة Meterpreter أو جلسة GUI عبر VNC.
  • دعم تصعيد امتياز المستخدم عبر Metasploit's Meterpreter.

 

تم تصميم Sqlmap باستخدام Python ، مما يعني أنه يمكن تشغيله على أي نظام أساسي مثبت عليه مترجم Python.

المحتوى المدعوم:

7. العدار

إنه أمر لا يصدق مدى ضعف كلمات مرور معظم الأشخاص. كشف تحليل أكثر كلمات المرور شيوعًا التي استخدمها مستخدمو LinkedIn في عام 2012 عن ذلك أكثر من 700,000 مستخدم لديهم "123456" كلمات مرورهم!

تسهل أدوات مثل Hydra اكتشاف كلمات المرور الضعيفة على المنصات عبر الإنترنت من خلال محاولة كسرها. Hydra عبارة عن أداة تكسير متوازية لكلمة مرور تسجيل الدخول إلى الشبكة (حسنًا ، إنها جرعة كبيرة) تستخدم لاختراق كلمات المرور عبر الإنترنت.

عادةً ما يتم استخدام Hydra مع مولدات قائمة الكلمات التابعة لجهات خارجية مثل Crunch و Cupp ، حيث لا تنشئ قوائم الكلمات نفسها. لاستخدام Hydra ، كل ما عليك فعله هو تحديد الهدف الذي ستختبره بالقلم ، واجتياز قائمة الكلمات ، ثم قم بالتشغيل.

يدعم Hydra قائمة طويلة من الأنظمة الأساسية وبروتوكولات الشبكة مثل Cisco auth و Cisco enable و FTP و HTTP (S) - (FORM-GET و FORM-POST و GET و HEAD) و HTTP-Proxy و MS-SQL و MySQL و Oracle المستمع ، Oracle SID ، POP3 ، PostgreSQL ، SMTP ، SOCKS5 ، SSH (v1 و v2) ، Subversion ، Telnet ، VMware-Auth ، VNC ، و XMPP.

على الرغم من أن Hydra تأتي مثبتة مسبقًا على Kali ، فقد "تم اختبارها لتجميعها بشكل نظيف على Linux و Windows / Cygwin و Solaris و FreeBSD / OpenBSD و QNX (Blackberry 10) و MacOS" ، وفقًا لمطوريها.

8. جون السفاح

بغض النظر عن الاسم الغريب ، فإن John The Ripper عبارة عن أداة تكسير كلمات مرور سريعة ومفتوحة المصدر وغير متصلة بالإنترنت. يحتوي على العديد من برامج تكسير كلمات المرور ويتيح لك أيضًا إنشاء أداة تكسير مخصصة.

يدعم John The Ripper العديد من أنواع تجزئة كلمات المرور والتشفير مما يجعلها أداة متعددة الاستخدامات. يدعم برنامج تكسير كلمات المرور وحدات المعالجة المركزية (CPU) ووحدات معالجة الرسومات (GPU) ، بالإضافة إلى FPGAs بواسطة Openwall ، مطوري أداة تكسير كلمات المرور.

لاستخدام John The Ripper ، يمكنك الاختيار من بين أربعة أوضاع مختلفة: وضع قائمة الكلمات ، ووضع الكراك الفردي ، والوضع المتزايد ، والوضع الخارجي. كل وضع له طرق لاختراق كلمات المرور التي تجعله مناسبًا لمواقف معينة. تتم هجمات John The Ripper بشكل أساسي من خلال القوة الغاشمة وهجمات القاموس.

على الرغم من أن John The Ripper مفتوح المصدر ، لا يتوفر إصدار أصلي رسمي (مجانًا). يمكنك الحصول على ذلك من خلال الاشتراك في إصدار Pro ، والذي يتضمن أيضًا المزيد من الميزات مثل دعم المزيد من أنواع التجزئة.

John The Ripper متاح على 15 نظام تشغيل (في وقت كتابة هذا التقرير) بما في ذلك macOS و Linux و Windows وحتى Android.

9. جناح التجشؤ

لقد ناقشنا حتى الآن اختبار الشبكات وقواعد البيانات وشبكات WiFi وأنظمة التشغيل ، ولكن ماذا عن تطبيقات الويب؟ أدى ظهور SaaS إلى ظهور الكثير من تطبيقات الويب على مر السنين. 

إن أمان هذه التطبيقات لا يقل أهمية ، إن لم يكن أكثر من الأنظمة الأساسية الأخرى التي قمنا بفحصها ، مع الأخذ في الاعتبار أن العديد من الشركات تبني الآن تطبيقات ويب بدلاً من تطبيقات سطح المكتب.

عندما يتعلق الأمر بأدوات اختبار الاختراق لتطبيقات الويب ، فمن المحتمل أن يكون Burp Suite هو الأفضل على الإطلاق. Burp Suite لا يشبه أي من الأدوات في هذه القائمة ، بواجهة مستخدم أنيقة وأسعار باهظة.

Burp Suite عبارة عن ماسح للثغرات الأمنية على الويب تم إنشاؤه بواسطة Portswigger Web Security لحماية تطبيقات الويب عن طريق استئصال العيوب ونقاط الضعف. على الرغم من أنه يحتوي على إصدار مجتمع مجاني ، إلا أنه يفتقر إلى جزء كبير من ميزاته الرئيسية.

يحتوي Burp Suite على إصدار Pro ونسخة مؤسسية. يمكن تجميع ميزات الإصدار الاحترافي في ثلاثة ؛ ميزات اختبار الاختراق اليدوي ، والهجمات الآلية المتقدمة / المخصصة ، والمسح الآلي للثغرات الأمنية. 

يتضمن إصدار المؤسسة جميع ميزات Pro وبعض الميزات الأخرى مثل تكامل CI وجدولة الفحص وقابلية التوسع على مستوى المؤسسة. تكلفتها أكثر بكثير أيضًا عند 6,995 دولارًا ، في حين أن إصدار Pro يكلف 399 دولارًا فقط.

يتوفر Burp Suite على أنظمة التشغيل Windows و Linux و macOS.

المحتوى المدعوم:

10. موبسف

أكثر من 80٪ من الناس في العالم يمتلكون اليوم هواتف ذكية ، لذا فهي طريقة موثوقة مجرمو الإنترنت لمهاجمة الناس. أحد أكثر نواقل الهجوم شيوعًا التي يستخدمونها هو التطبيقات ذات الثغرات الأمنية.

MobSF أو Mobile Security Framework هو إطار عمل لتقييم أمان الأجهزة المحمولة جيدًا مصمم لأتمتة تحليل البرامج الضارة واختبار القلم والتحليل الثابت والديناميكي لتطبيقات الأجهزة المحمولة.

يمكن استخدام MobSF لتحليل ملفات تطبيقات Android و iOS و Windows (الهاتف المحمول). بمجرد تحليل ملفات التطبيق ، يعد MobSF تقريرًا يلخص وظائف التطبيق ، بالإضافة إلى تفاصيل المشكلات المحتملة التي قد تسمح بالوصول غير المصرح به إلى المعلومات الموجودة على الهاتف المحمول.

يقوم MobSF بنوعين من التحليل على تطبيقات الأجهزة المحمولة: ثابت (هندسة عكسية) وديناميكي. أثناء التحليل الساكن ، يتم فك التحويل البرمجي أولاً. ثم يتم استخراج ملفاتها وتحليلها بحثًا عن نقاط ضعف محتملة. 

يتم إجراء التحليل الديناميكي عن طريق تشغيل التطبيق على محاكي أو جهاز حقيقي ثم مراقبته للوصول إلى البيانات الحساسة والطلبات غير الآمنة والتفاصيل المشفرة. يشتمل MobSF أيضًا على fuzzer Web API المدعوم من CappFuzz.

يعمل MobSF على أنظمة Linux و macOS و Windows المستندة إلى Ubuntu / Debian. كما أن لديها صورة Docker مبنية مسبقًا. 

فى الختام…

إذا كان لديك بالفعل Kali Linux مثبتًا من قبل ، فستشاهد معظم الأدوات في هذه القائمة. الباقي يمكنك تثبيته بنفسك). بمجرد الانتهاء من تثبيت الأدوات التي تحتاجها ، فإن الخطوة التالية هي معرفة كيفية استخدامها. معظم الأدوات سهلة الاستخدام جدًا ، وقبل أن تعرفها ، ستكون في طريقك لتحسين أمان عملائك بمجموعات مهارات جديدة.

أخبار الأمن السيبراني حول تهديدات برامج الفدية والبرامج الضارة.

مخدرات لندن تتعرض لهجوم LockBit Ransomware، برنامج التسجيل في قاعة المحكمة يقدم برامج ضارة: موجز أخبار الأمن السيبراني الخاص بك

مخدرات لندن تتعرض لهجوم LockBit Ransomware، برنامج التسجيل في قاعة المحكمة يقدم برامج ضارة: تقرير إخباري لأخبار الأمن السيبراني الخاص بك مخدرات لندن التي تتعرض لهجوم LockBit Ransomware، ترفض دفع 25 دولارًا

اقرأ المزيد »

Top 10 Penetration Testing Tools

op 10 Pen testing tools 2022

Top 10 Penetration Testing Tools: Intro

A common hacking scene in movies is some nerdy-looking person, glasses and weird haircut, hunched over a laptop typing furiously with lines of code scrolling by on a multi-screen setup. The weird haircut and glasses part may be true sometimes, but the rest is nonsense, as you very well know.

Nobody churns out scripts and algorithms off-hand(pun intended), trying to bypass a bank’s security. Penetration testing requires several tools and patience to pull off. In the past, you would have to be exceedingly knowledgeable about numerous techniques to successfully bypass the security of a system as most of these tools didn’t exist then. 

The contributions of many people in the security community have made carrying out penetration testing a lot easier. There are now many tools at our disposal for pen-testing. Many of them require very little setup to get started. 

Because so many tools do similar things, deciding which is best for you can get confusing. To help out with this, we compiled a list of the top 10 penetration testing tools for you. Check them out below.

1. Kali Linux

Kali isn’t a tool per se. It’s an open-source distribution of the Linux operating system built for information security tasks such as security research, reverse engineering, computer forensics, and, you guessed it, penetration testing.

Kali contains several penetration testing tools, some of which you’d see on this list as you read on. These tools can do almost everything you want when it comes to pen-testing. Want to carry out an SQL injection attack, deploy a payload, crack a password? There are tools for that.

It used to be known as Backtrack before its current name, Kali. It is currently maintained by Offensive Security who release updates to the OS once in a while to add new tools, improve compatibility, and support more hardware.

One amazing thing about Kali is the wIde range of platforms it runs on. You can run Kali on Mobile devices, Docker, ARM, Amazon Web Services, Windows Subsystem for Linux, Virtual Machine, and bare metal. 

A common practice of pen testers is to load up raspberry pis with Kali because of their small size. This makes it easy to plug it into a network at a target’s physical location. However, most pen testers use Kali on a VM or a bootable thumb drive.

Note that Kali’s default security is weak, so you need to bolster it before doing or storing anything confidential on it.

2. Metasploit

Bypassing the security of a target system isn’t always a given. Pen testers rely on vulnerabilities within a target system to exploit and gain access or control. As you can imagine, thousands of vulnerabilities have been discovered on a wide range of platforms over the years. It is impossible to know all these vulnerabilities and their exploits, as they are numerous.

This is where Metasploit comes in. Metasploit is an open-source security framework developed by Rapid 7. It is used to scan computer systems, networks, and servers for vulnerabilities to exploit them or document them.

Metasploit contains more than two thousand exploits across a wide range of platforms, such as Android, Cisco, Firefox, Java, JavaScript, Linux, NetWare, nodejs, macOS, PHP, Python, R, Ruby, Solaris, Unix, and of course, Windows. 

Besides scanning for vulnerabilities, pentesters also use Metasploit for exploit development, payload delivery, information gathering, and maintaining access on a compromised system.

Metasploit supports some Windows and Linux operating systems and it is one of the pre-installed apps on Kali.

3. Wireshark

Before attempting to bypass the security of a system, pentesters try to gather as much information as they can about their target. Doing this allows them to decide on an optimal approach to testing the system. One of the tools pentesters use during this process is Wireshark.

Wireshark is a network protocol analyzer used to make sense of traffic going through a network. Network professionals usually use it to troubleshoot TCP/IP connection issues such as latency issues, dropped packets, and malicious activity.

However, pentesters use it to assess networks for vulnerabilities. Besides learning how to use the tool itself, you also need to be familiar with some networking concepts such as TCP/IP stack, reading and interpreting packet headers, understanding routing, port forwarding, and DHCP work to use it proficiently.

 

Some of its key features are:

  • Can analyze large volumes of data.
  • Support for  analysis and decryption of hundreds of protocols.
  • Real-time and offline analysis of networks.
  • Powerful capture and display filters.

 

Wireshark is available on Windows, macOS, Linux, Solaris, FreeBSD, NetBSD, and many other platforms. 

Sponsored Content:

4. Nmap

Pentesters use Nmap for gathering information and detecting vulnerabilities on a network. Nmap, short for network mapper, is a port scanner used for network discovery. Nmap was built to scan large networks with hundreds of thousands of machines, rapidly. 

Such scans usually yield information such as the types of hosts on the network, services(application name and version) they offer, the name and version of the OS the hosts are running, packet filters and firewalls in use, and many other characteristics. 

It is through Nmap scans that pentesters discover exploitable hosts. Nmap also lets you monitor host and service uptime on a network.

Nmap runs on major operating systems such as Linux, Microsoft Windows, Mac OS X, FreeBSD, OpenBSD, and Solaris. It also comes pre-installed on Kali like the penetration testing tools above.

5. Aircrack-ng

WiFi networks are probably one of the first systems you wished you could hack. After all, who wouldn’t want “free” WiFi? As a pentester, you should have a tool for testing WiFi security in your toolset. And what better tool to use than Aircrack-ng?

Aircrack-ng is an open-source tool pentesters use to deal with wireless networks. It contains a suite of tools used to assess a wireless network for vulnerabilities.

All Aircrack-ng tools are command-line tools. This makes it easy for pentesters to create custom scripts for advanced use. Some of its key features are:

  • Monitoring network packets.
  • Attacking via packet injection.
  • Testing WiFi and driver capabilities.
  • Cracking WiFi networks with WEP and WPA PSK (WPA 1 and 2) encryption protocols.
  • Can capture and export data packets for further analysis by third-party tools.

 

Aircrack-ng works primarily on Linux(comes with Kali) but it’s also available on Windows, macOS, FreeBSD, OpenBSD, NetBSD, Solaris, and eComStation 2.

6. Sqlmap

An insecure database management system is an attack vector pentesters often use to get into a system. Databases are integral parts of modern applications, which means they’re ubiquitous. It also means that pentesters could get into a lot of systems through insecure DBMSs. 

Sqlmap is a SQL injection tool that automates the detection and exploitation of SQL injection flaws in order to take over a database. Before Sqlmap, pentesters ran SQL injection attacks manually. This meant that executing the technique required prior knowledge.

Now, even beginners can use any of the six SQL injection techniques supported by Sqlmap(boolean-based blind, time-based blind, error-based, UNION query-based, stacked queries, and out-of-band) to attempt getting into a database. 

Sqlmap can carry out attacks on a wide range of DBMSs such as MySQL, Oracle, PostgreSQL, Microsoft SQL Server, Microsoft Access, IBM DB2, and SQLite. Visit the website for a full list. 

 

Some of its top features include:

  • Executing commands on the OS of the target machine, via out-of-band connections.
  • Accessing the underlying file system of the target machine.
  • Can automatically recognize password hash formats, and crack them using a dictionary attack. 
  • Can establish a connection between the attacker machine and the underlying OS of the database server, allowing it to launch a terminal, a Meterpreter session, or a GUI session via VNC.
  • Support for user privilege escalation via Metasploit’s Meterpreter.

 

Sqlmap is built with Python, which means it can run on any platform that has the Python interpreter installed.

Sponsored Content:

7. Hydra

It’s incredible how weak most people’s passwords are. An analysis of the most popular passwords used by LinkedIn users in 2012 revealed that more than 700,000 users had ‘123456’ as their passwords!

Tools like Hydra make it easy to detect weak passwords on online platforms by attempting to crack them. Hydra is a parallelized network login password cracker(well, that’s a mouthful) used to crack passwords online.

Hydra is usually used with third-party wordlist generators such as Crunch and Cupp, as it doesn’t generate wordlists itself. To use Hydra, all you need to do is specify the target you’d be pen testing, pass in a wordlist, and run.

Hydra supports a long list of platforms and network protocols such as Cisco auth, Cisco enable, FTP, HTTP(S)-(FORM-GET, FORM-POST, GET, HEAD), HTTP-Proxy, MS-SQL, MySQL, Oracle Listener, Oracle SID, POP3, PostgreSQL, SMTP, SOCKS5, SSH (v1 and v2), Subversion, Telnet, VMware-Auth, VNC, and XMPP.

Though Hydra comes pre-installed on Kali, it has been “tested to compile cleanly on Linux, Windows/Cygwin, Solaris, FreeBSD/OpenBSD, QNX (Blackberry 10) and MacOS”, according to its developers.

8. John The Ripper

Weird name aside, John The Ripper is a fast, open-source, offline password cracker. It contains several password crackers and also lets you create a custom cracker.

John The Ripper supports many password hash and cipher types making it a very versatile tool. The password cracker supports CPUs, GPUs, as well as FPGAs by Openwall, the developers of the password cracker.

To use the John The Ripper you choose from four different modes: word list mode, single crack mode, incremental mode, and external mode. Each mode has ways of cracking passwords that make it suitable for certain situations. John The Ripper attacks are mainly through brute force and dictionary attacks.

Although John The Ripper is open source, no official native build is available(for free). You can get that by subscribing for the Pro version, which also includes more features such as support for more hash types.

John The Ripper is available on 15 operating systems(at the time of writing this) including macOS, Linux, Windows, and even Android.

9. Burp Suite

So far, we have discussed testing networks, databases, WiFi, and operating systems, but what about web apps? The rise of SaaS has led to a lot of web apps popping up over the years. 

The security of these apps is just as important, if not more than other platforms we’ve examined, considering many companies now build web apps instead of desktop apps.

When it comes to penetration testing tools for web apps, Burp Suite is probably the best one out there. Burp Suite is unlike any of the tools on this list, with its sleek user interface and heavy pricing.

Burp Suite is a web vulnerability scanner built by Portswigger Web Security to protect web applications by rooting out flaws and vulnerabilities. Although it has a free community edition, it lacks a huge chunk of its key features.

Burp Suite has a Pro version and an enterprise version. Features of the professional version can be grouped into three; Manual penetration testing features, advanced/custom automated attacks, and automated vulnerability scanning. 

The enterprise version includes all of the Pro features and some other features such as CI integration, scan scheduling, enterprise-wide scalability. It cost a whole lot more as well at $6,995, whereas the Pro version costs just $399.

Burp Suite is available on Windows, Linux, and macOS.

Sponsored Content:

10. MobSF

More than 80% of the people in the world today have smartphones, so it is a reliable way for cybercriminals to attack people. One of the most common attack vectors they use is apps with vulnerabilities.

MobSF or Mobile Security Framework is a, well, mobile security assessment framework built to automate malware analysis, pen-testing, and static & dynamic analysis of mobile apps.

MobSF can be used to analyze Android, iOS, and Windows(mobile) app files. Once the app files are analyzed, MobSF prepares a report summarizing the functionality of the app, as well as detailing potential issues that could allow unauthorized access to information on a mobile phone.

MobSF performs two types of analysis on mobile apps: static(reverse engineering) and dynamic. During static analysis, a mobile is first decompiled. Its files are then extracted and analyzed for potential vulnerabilities. 

Dynamic analysis is performed by running the app on an emulator or a real device and then observing it for sensitive data access, insecure requests, and hardcoded details. MobSF also includes a Web API fuzzer powered by CappFuzz.

MobSF runs on Ubuntu/Debian-based Linux, macOS, and Windows. It also has a pre-built Docker image. 

In Conclusion…

If you already had Kali Linux installed before now, you would have seen most of the tools on this list. The rest you can install on your own). Once you’re done installing the tools you need, the next step is to learn how to use them. Most of the tools are pretty easy to use, and before you know it, you’d be on your way to improving your clients’ security with new skill sets.

WHOIS vs RDAP

WHOIS vs RDAP

WHOIS vs RDAP What is WHOIS? Most website owners include a means to contact them on their website. It could be an email, an address,

Read More »
API Load Testing With Locust

API Load Testing With Locust

API Load Testing With Locust API Load Testing With Locust: Intro You’ve probably been in this situation before: you write code that does something, an

Read More »
Top OATH API Vulnerabilites

Top OATH API Vulnerabilities

Top OATH API Vulnerabilities Top OATH API Vulnerabilities: Intro When it comes to exploits, APIs are the greatest place to start. API access usually consists

Read More »

Application Security Training Platform | Security Sherpa